Cloud.bg – Is Cloud Bg An International Host Of Mystery?

0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0

8 more hosts to go with my May 2010 webhostingstuff list, which brings me to Cloud bg.  Cloud bg is a bit of an oddity out of all the webhostingstuff.com sites.  I say that because unlike the other 17 hosting companies, this company does not list the U.S. dollar (well it has a limited list).  The only site close to them is Ioxhost.uk.co, but they are an English company.  However unlike Cloud bg,  Ioxhost.uk.com has a web site for for the U.S.  I tend to think that Canada gets over looked in this market after all while they may be an English country, their currency does not have the same value as  the U.S. Dollar or the U.K. Pound.  Clearly their link with webhostinstuff.com was meant to target an English audiance as their link is http://www.cloud.bg/en/ .  When you go directly to http://www.cloud.bg, it  takes you to site in Bulgarian.  You have to click on the British Flag in order to get the site translated for you in English.

How long has Cloud bg been around?

Its a bit unclear, and frankly I don’t know how bg domains are handled.    After all you don’t see an approval date on. dot com’s.

Webhostingstuff.com has no idea how long Cloud bg has been around either:

Site Established: Unknown
Traffic Popularity: #909 of 10,291 companies

Despite dropping from 18 to 20, they have a traffic popularity of 909.

WHOIS
DOMAIN NAME: cloud.bg

requested on: 13/04/2009
processed from: 13/04/2009
activated on: 21/04/2009
expires at: 13/04/2011
domain status: Registered, conditional contract

If I am reading this correctly it appears the domain was created on April 21, 2010.    Not exactly a veteran company. This post might shed more light as to how long they have been around:

http://www.cloud.bg/en/blog/cloudbg-launched-with-cpanel-11-25-0

Cloud bg’s reviews on Webhostingstuff

What I find unique about Cloud Bg’s two reviews is the dates.

Cloud.Bg is the best solution! (Excellent)
– by Yulian (every.bg) on 19 May 2010

Cloud.bg – the best web hosting provider (Excellent)
– by Miroslav (mvvitanov.com) on 18 May 2010

What are the chances of only having two reviews just a day apart?

Does Cloud bg host every.bg?

No, despite having issues of trying to look at the who is info for this domain  I am able to look at the network info and I get the following:

netname:        SUPERHOSTINGBG
descr:          SuperHosting.BG Ltd
I can't confirm that they were ever with them, of if they recently changed their dns.
SUPERHOSTINGBG

I wonder what the chances are of one review coming in one day after another.

Does Cloud bg host mvvitanov.com?

Yes, Cloud bg does host mvvitanov.com.  However the domain was registered this year.

Queried whois.internic.net with “dom mvvitanov.com”…

   Domain Name: MVVITANOV.COM
   Registrar: REALTIME REGISTER BV
   Whois Server: whois.yoursrs.com
   Referral URL: http://www.realtimeregister.com
   Name Server: NS1.CLOUD.BG
   Name Server: NS2.CLOUD.BG
   Status: clientTransferProhibited
   Updated Date: 12-mar-2010
   Creation Date: 12-mar-2010
   Expiration Date: 12-mar-2011

Cloud bg’s up time for July 2010

There are two things I gather from this.  Its possible that Cloud bg has only been active as of February of this year, or they were not added to webhostingstuff.com until they started bidding for positioning in the top 25 spot.    That and perhaps every.bg is no longer hosting with Cloud bg because of this large amount of down time in May (26 hours)  and July (121 hours or 5 days of down time).    But last I checked every.bg is a single page website with what appears to be a under construction page / place holder (sorry I can not read Bulgarian).    The only post I can find in relation to any down time is:

http://www.cloud.bg/en/blog/cloudbg-has-received-our-first-dos-attack-today

From the sound of it, you would think they were down only three hours.

With in this post I find a link to the announcements, and I find three posts in July in regards to downtime.

http://www.cloud.bg/whmcs/announcements.php?id=5

http://www.cloud.bg/whmcs/announcements.php?id=6

http://www.cloud.bg/whmcs/announcements.php?id=7

But nothing in these announcements explains away the 7,249 minutes of downtime for July 2010 that webhostingstuff.com lists.  There is nothing at least in English that explains away what happen in May.

The Cloud bg affiliate program

When I look at their twitter and Facebook feeds:

http://twitter.com/CloudBg

http://www.facebook.com/pages/CloudBg/192614121885

I get the impression that they are paying out $152.50 per sale.

But you have to read in full http://www.cloud.bg/en/blog/cloud-affiliate-program-now-you-earn-more, to realize that its not every sale, and this depends on if the person actually signs up for the year.  I have no problem with them going from 18% to 20% on affiliate commissions.   But the tweet and Facebook update give an impression of fees of the other companies on the top 25 of webhostingstuff.com.

Finale thoughts on Cloud bg

Reading through their website I can tell that English is not their first language.  I know I am not one to talk as I don’t exactly go through my blog with a fine tooth comb, often I find myself coming in to correct what I put up.  But I am not trying to sell a service.  I have never been the person to put up sales material online.    There are a lot of details that bother me about Cloud bg, granted not as much as some of the others.

8 Responses

  1. Cornelius Talmidge
  2. Miroslav
  3. admin
  4. James
  5. admin
  6. tirevs
  7. Benjamin

Add Comment