Endurance International Group, Inc

Back when I first reviewed iPage and Fatcow I came across Endurance International Group.  All because these two hosts appeared in webhostingstuff top 25 hosts.  In the 2nd and 4th positions, both out pacing hostgator.  Never mind that I have now gone through 30 webhosts on webhostingstuff and I have shown there is no reasonable ranking going on unless you factor in webhostingstuff.com getting something under the table.  After all one of the sites that was number 25 is now out of business.  From what I can see there is nothing showing that Endurance International Group is going out of business.



How did Endurance International Group get my attention?

A chat session with iPage had me wondering how many companies this support operation had to take care of.  All because the chat operator had to ask me what url I was referring to.  I told the operator that it was the main page, after all a site only has one main/home page.  The chat operator kept asking me for the main page until I gave them iPage.com.  Having used chat programs with my hosting companies, I can tell you my techs knew what site, and for that matter what page of the site a customer was on.  Clearly something that this group should be using as opposed to having customers tell a chat operator what site they are on.

It was my first impression that it was just an outsourced support working with multiple hosting companies.  But there was also this that one of the chat operators told me:

Bryan Smith: FatCow is the sister company of iPage.

The chat operator gave me more information then he/she should have. The support company was not well put together because they had to ask which website I was referring to.  But by the  time I reviewed Fatcow, and was I looking for FatCow’s BBB record.  The search engine results brought me to:


It became clear that while it was not only outsourced it was part of a company that buys out webhosting companies.  They claim to have natural growth, but all the growth appears to be mostly acquisition.   While looking at some hosts its becomes clear that the buy outs don’t happen smoothly.  One company out of all those bought out by Endurance International Group sticks out, and that is host4life.   It seemed prior to being bought out, people actually liked that company, but the opinion is clearly in the negative now. I have to say that  Endurance International Group has me curious.  So I am adding another part to my reviews which is all the sites that appear under Endurance International Group.

Endurance International Group appears out of the picture with their acquisition.

I have a bottle of Tylenol on my desk, looking over the bottle I can tell you what company Tylenol is a division of.  Which is MCNEIL-PPC, inc.  You goto tylenol.com and you find MCNEIL-PPC, inc.  When you got to iPage.com and FatCow.com you can’t find a reference to Endurance International Group.  I have gone through several of their sites looked at the bottom of the main pages, look through various terms of services.  Yet not one site brings me any detail about being owned by Endurance International Group.  I have read some sites that indicated that they are the third largest hosting provider in the U.S.  having around some 700,000 customers.  But nothing open to telling the customers that their hosting company is a division of Endurance International Group. When I was looking at how Endurance International Group, is a green company (more about that in another post).  I found a order link. http://www.enduranceinternational.com/green/

I get the following page: http://www.enduranceinternational.com/endurance/hosting.bml?

They have a lot of companies to link to on their greenwashed sites.  Greenwashing by means of buying energy credits.

Endurance International Group where hosting customers are a reusable commodity

One thing sticks out to me on Endurance International Group’s website:

Access Millions of Potential Customers

Learn more about the vDeck Integration Program (VIP) which puts your product or service in front of a high-quality, targeted audience of small business owners looking for cutting-edge solutions.

It appears that Endurance International Group is using their customers as an advertising base.  Much like what AOL did with their service.   This is my assumption, but based on this page: http://www.enduranceinternational.com/vip/

I am going to assume that products are placed inside of a customers login area.  Looking at several of the sites randomly they cover their butts from the people they sell the advertising to.







and the list goes on…….  But every site I have look at has the same privacy policy.  The part that connects  hosting company to Endurance International Group is 5. Online Shopping.

Online Shopping. At some Web sites that you access through links on FatCow, you can purchase products and services or register to receive materials, such as a catalog or new product updates. In many cases, you may be asked to provide contact information, such as your name, address, e-mail address, phone number, and credit/debit card information. If you complete an order for a Web site or service that is not provided by FatCow, FatCow has no control over the third parties’ use of any personal information you provide when placing such an order. Please exercise care when doing so. If you order products directly from FatCow, we will use the personal information you provide only to process that order. We do not share this information with outside parties except to the extent necessary to complete that order.

In addition to hosting fees, Endurance International Group is also making money on the back end off their clients through advertising.

Here is the list of sites that I know of with Endurance International Group

Easy CGI
The Endurance International Group, Inc.

I have heard rumor that they also own Justhost, but at this time I have not found anything to confirm that.

Endurance International Group a company with so much more to review

If you have a horror story, a success story, or information for me to look at with Endurance International Group, this is the place to post.