BurstNET – What may have been my worst provider

Back when I did my review of Wooservers, I brought up my history with BurstNET.  Wooservers.com basic claim was that I could not judge their service based off of my own experiences.  But I have to ask, is a host only as good as their supplier? Supposibly BurstNET resellers get faster support, I have no idea because they could not handle 3 servers, so I saw no reason to invest in their reseller program.  After all if they can not handle 3 servers, its not a good sign to trust them with hundreds  of servers.  I still think wooservers.com is no better then BurstNET.  After all if BurstNET is willing to sacrifice support to their direct customers, they very well may skip lesser resellers to provide support to resellers that sell more then others.

Its been almost 10 years since I first used BurstNET

It really boogles the mind that any business can survive while being terrible at customer service.  Back in 2003 I got service with BurstNET because my previous company was looking for a viable cPanel company.   I was not particularly happy with Fastservers.net who would later become Layeredtech.   My second provider was OChosting, who were in the progress of leaving after they were threatening to charge extra for reboots because of outages caused by defective equipment. Which is a story for another day.  Also I have to say I prefer Plesk over cPanel another post for another day.   I don’t exactly remember dealing with the BurstNET sales dept that much in the beginning.  But after I got my second server there were setup issues and the server went down for 7 days.  After multiple calls that went to an answering machine that was full I was not particularly happy.  So I canceled the service. BurstNET was unwilling to provide a refund despite the issues being caused by them.

Second time is the charm with BurstNET?

By 2005 my business partner thought they would have the kinks worked out.  His thoughts were that no company could possible survive if they kept up that level of incompetence.   Clearly they can.  This server was held no longer then 2 weeks.  After 2 equipment failures  my business partner was sick of playing my part with this company because I refused to take any part of using them as a supplier.  Not once was he able to get someone on the phone, despite my recommendation that we call them first.  Though I ended up having to deal with them on trying to get a refund that never came.  Ultimately I feel I probable wasted more time then what a refund was worth.

This is one of those rare hosts where the searching for “BurstNET sucks” on google really does apply.

This is just off the first page:

http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php/20467-BurstNet-STINKS ( 2 negative reviews from 2001)

http://www.webhostingstuff.com/review/BurstNet.html (12 negative reviews)

(6 negative reviews  Oct 2006 – Sept 2010)

http://www.web-hosting-top.com/web-hosting/web-hosting-top.burst.net-reviews (.5 out of 5 stars – 12 negative reviews)

http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=1609927 (negative review from 2009)

http://forums.cnet.com/7723-6616_102-337170.html (negative review from 2009)

http://www.000webhost.com/directory/reviews/burst.net (2009- 2010 8 negative reviews).

There are even more.  For some reason the reviews on webhostingstuff.com about BurstNET start December 2008.

But there is also this tweet done on January 28, 2011

As for the what BurstNET reseller wooservers.com tried to tell me:

Judging a different company with your own past experience of burst.net is very unsubstantial.

Thats not one of their customers says:


I saw there post on here and the high amount of bandwidth – space and price got me wanting to try them out, They tell you they have support in the uk and usa, and act like loads of people work for them when only one person was replaying to my tickets I checked out there domain and he’s the owner..

He also said they owned loads fof sites but all joined together to work on wooservers.com when i asked for the domains they worked on he refused to tell me..

He said server setup takes 12 – 24 hours but it look almost 3 days to setup, Once setup I asked a friend of mine to go over the vps to make sure I did it right, but he was unable to get on the server or open any of the pages and they wasn’t helpful about that..


I then asked for a refund as if he couldn’t connect or view anything on the server then it’s no good to me as me and him work together and they refused.

My advice is don’t use them, they seem to lie and it seem’s to be the one guy there, and not everybody is able to connect to the vps.

Is anybody able to recommend a good vps company that isn’t to pricey and have good connections to the uk.

– Matthew

No similarities to BurstNET at all there right?

Then there is the negative review on Web-hosting-top.com


horrible service. my vps was down for over 24 hours and i lost all my data. support is so slow it takes 18 hours to respond to ticket. STAY AWAY FROM THEM.

This was on August 30, 2010.

Strangely another review was done on September 11, 2010:

I think wooservers is very reliable. I have never had an outage. Network Speeds are blazing fast. Customer service very nice and Super Fast. Amazing prices No One can beat. Amazing Ping Times Overall 100% Perfect

Then there is the one I love that seems like a failed advertisement on October 14, 2010:

woo servers is one of the best hosts around and is the most popular for businesses and i recommend all to use their service.

I tried several hosts but i failed in getting support, technical assistance, reliability, cheaters but woo servers are trusted and one can expect 100% satisfaction

* Fast email supports
* Different levels of servers so you can grow
* Very reliable with 99.9% Uptime
* Excellent support
* Good knowledge technically
* Very helpful, probably best known for top technical support

Overall, woo servers is a great choice, particularly for businesses.

If I did not know better I would almost think that was not a review.

Then there was the Wooserver.com webhostingstuff.com reviews which started August 31, 2010


One day after the negative review on web-hosting-top.com.  Coincidence?  Perhaps.

But we were talking about BurstNET

There are two tweets I find the most intresting.

When it comes to BurstNET a fast response and 30 day guarantee don’t apply.

25 Replies to “BurstNET – What may have been my worst provider”

  1. Hello Bert,

    On the order form for Burstnet? If its Burstnet they have more then three people working with them. Back when I dealt with them I can count at least 7 people in support and 2 in billing. If its wooservers, that I have no idea.



  2. Hello,

    My name is Tim, and I work for a company that was looking to duplicate our servers for disaster recovery and BCP purposes.

    We decided to give BurstNet a shot and it was horrible. Their VPS services is ONLY good if you want to setup a proof of concept system or test configurations. Do NOT expect reliability and uptime.

    We purchased 5 VPS machines to test out our telephony and web configurations as a testing phase.

    1 Machine lost all data and had to be restored from network backup.

    3 Machines had less than 80% network uptime

    1 Machine had packet loss of 50% or greater for an entire weekend.

    Over the weekend, BurstNet support stated that they would have to move the ticket to their tier 1 support who does not work on the weekends.

    Can you believe that they do not have network architects at least on call?

    I have worked in the network industry for over 18 years and I know that I have NEVER seen a company so unorganized in my entire life.

    If all you want is a testing platform, then burstnet is cheap. But don’t expect reliability or availability.

  3. Hello Tim,

    I was wondering if you have the ticket / email exchange. I would like to post that to my blog.



  4. I am a customer of WooServers,

    I’m not sure if they use BurstNets Co-Location or if they resell the servers,

    But at the end of the day I am getting the cheap servers from BurstNet, with the support from WooServers.

    I have not had any problems with them, for the 2 months I have been a client, they helped me setup solusvm etc.

    I was not going to comment on this, but I thought I might as well, but for me at least I have had good service, and no downtime in the 2 months I have been a client.

    Best Regards,

  5. Hello Josh,

    What is your website, you left that out when you decided to give a glowing review for Wooservers.

    Also 2 months is not really along time. I have been with some hosts where the first couple of months were great, but once they had server outage or I needed support they end up showing they were not prepared.

    I would love to hear back from you after you had 6 months or a year under your belt with this company.



  6. Hello Ben,

    I will be sure to update you (and other readers) with my Experiences.

    I understand 2 months is a short time, and the example you mentioned above happened to me with another host as well.

    I have attached my site to this post.


  7. Hello Josh,

    Sorry for the late reply I was on vaction.

    Just a few thoughts:

    1.The domain you have pointed me two was less then a month old when you first posted, is there domain that was hosted with them for around 2 months?
    2. At the time you had posted a reply I had noted that your site was offline. Through a six hour period of time I had did a few random checks before it actually came on, were you aware of this?
    3. It appears your a customer of CLOUDFLARE.COM, I don’t see the connection to wooservers or burstnet.
    4. If you are a customer of wooservers, why not just do direct business with burstnet? Especially since you are offering hosting service.



  8. 1. I am currently in my second month of hosting with them, the server was ordered right before I purchased the domain, We purchased around 5th of June, so thats all of June, and most of July so far, close to 2 months.
    2. Yes I was aware of the outage.
    3. Cloudflare is not a hosting company, CloudFlare is a reverse proxy service that makes websites load faster and protects sites from online spammers and hackers, a CDN basically.
    4. As you mentioned in previous posts, and its mentioned all over the internet, Burstnet have terrible support, and response times, at the time of ordering from WooServers, I did not know they were a BurstNet reseller, and at the end of the day, I dont care.

    Feel free to check the unmasked IP’s

  9. Hello Josh,

    I would love to know how long that outage was, not to mention if you have had anymore before that.

    As for not caring about Burst.net. If this was a website where you were the only one effected I would say more power to you. But your offering hosting, and any service interruption you suffer, a your customers also will suffer as well. Not to mention wooservers is just the middle man between you and burst.net. So if a server is down, you contact them and they contact Burst.net. Perhaps Burst.net gives better service to their resellers then they do to their direct customers, You should be concerned about who is providing your service, after all who is going to deal with your customers should you have a problem with service?



  10. Hey there Ben,

    The outage was not caused by WooServers or BurstNet, it was a mistake on our end, we are currently looking into up-time monitoring services, trying to find a good reliable one.

    I understand that not dealing directly with BurstNet has its disadvantages, but IMO it also has an advantage, which for me is having the support from WooServers, From what I read BurstNet have terrible support, and when it comes to issues with my server for example installs I need, WooServers are able to provide that support.

    Regarding support directly related to the server, for example outages or upgrades, I am unsure on the response times as I have not come across any of these issues yet.

    Until (If) I have problems regarding outages and what not, that are a BurstNet’s fault, I cant make a decision to switch providers or not, based on my experiences, I will be sure to keep you updated and let you (and the readers) know if I do in fact have issues with them, but regarding the servers I have not had any issues.

    On a side note, how am I have to register for an account here, I do receive comment updates, but I would also like to register for an account if possible.



  11. “The outage was not caused by WooServers or BurstNet, it was a mistake on our end, we are currently looking into up-time monitoring services, trying to find a good reliable one.”

    Regading this part, it was suppose to be separate, it looks like I was trying to find a service to provide better uptime, when I was looking for a service to monitor it.


  12. Hello Josh,

    I am not sure what you mean by an account, as this is one of my personal blogs. If your wanting to now when I do new posts you can always submit your email to the mailing system. But I will only be sending out notices for my so called top 10 (where I do anything but sell you on a host). I plan to at least get one post a week out if I have the spare time available, which really depends on what projects I am working on. Granted I would like to get to the point that there is at least one post a day. However there is always Twitter and Facebook where I will post every time I do a post.

    Though in the future I may put up a forum so people can place their own complaints about a host, and I try to engage the host to work with the customer.

    As for who would work on your servers, it really depends on the issue, anything on a hardware level such as say an unresponsive server would be burst.net. Or let’s say there is a licencing issue with the control panel in this case cPanel. Which honestly is the only control panel I have ever had this problem with. Chances are pretty high that its Burst.net that purchased the licensing for this and will have to be the ones to contact cPanel to sort this out. After all Burst.net would have the buying power to get it cheaper then a reseller would on their own. cPanel is not exactly fast at support themselves, never mind the headache of customers who get an invalid licence notice. Personally I prefer Plesk despite its lack of being user friendly, though that may change as they don’t seem to evolve. But regardless of the software, wooservers is a reseller for one of many reasons, one of which is its not cheap to have your own data center and being reseller in the short term is cheaper then starting from scratch. At some point of your being with them, Burst.net will be involved in your service. Granted maybe after almost 10 years Burst.net is starting to get their act together, which I would love to hear a company turning things around for the better.



  13. Regarding the account I saw a few members with avatars so I thought they ‘registered’ turns out it was gravitar 😛

    I purchase my cPanel Licenses from BuycPanel.com so thats not from Burst.net, If I have any problems in the future I will be sure to post a comment for readers to see.

  14. One of my friends that helped do the programming for this site put in something that gives random avatars to those that did not have one, as its supposed to pretty the site up I guess.

    Good luck with cPanel. As much as I would like to discourage use of the product, as I don’t use it for my own sites. Its about the best thing that you could offer if your selling hosting to people who have little web experience. Granted my reasons for hating it are great and many, from some parts of the functionality being bone headed to my I having a beef with one of the former employees of fast servers, that works for them now.

    Make sure to do the proper tweaking so people do not overload the server or allow a hacker in. Maybe some day I will work on a new control panel

  15. I have never used Plesk, I might have a play around with a demo.

    We have the range of configServer Products installed, as well as a few other tweaks, We should get someone in to do a security audit of the server.

  16. It would work great if your just doing your own sites from it, such as the host domain. But defiantly not for something I would offer to the budget minded customer that wants lots of bells and whistles, and to understand what they see.

  17. We have cPanel on the server just for our site and forum, I dont see a point in paying $15 for cpanel when we rarely login to it.

    We will probably end up just running webmin to manage the server, and then just use it without a panel.

  18. I had a terrible time with this service burstnet.
    I only ran 2 sites on a Vps and my sites were constantly down. Asked for refund 2 days in billing period answer was no that is against or policy.
    So your sites won’t work and you cannot get your money back. Do Not Use Burstnet is my advise. “

  19. Just a quick update (I forgot how I found my way back to this blog 😛 )

    I have been going for a few months now with WooServers (July->October)

    Have not had any network issues, and support is still good.

    One thing I noticed about quite a large amount of BurstNET bad reviews, is they are regarding VPS, perhaps they have teribble VPS, but ‘alright’ servers?

  20. Hello Josh,

    You probable should have posted on the wooservers post, as Wooservers did experience at least 8 hours of down time and so did one of their customers.

    As for vps being their biggest problem. My problems were dedicated and this was almost 7 years ago. I still see people complaining about dedicated servers. But your right a lot of the complains these days are vps. In my experience as a previous host owner, people were more likely to buy a vps then they were a dedicated. Even more likely to buy shared hosting then a vps, worse yet more willing to go with an unlimited plan (with limits that are not disclosed) then a plan with known limits. That whole cheapest solution syndrome, even if its not the best choice happens way too often in this industry.

    I tend to think that is the only reason Burstnet is still in business is because people are just not willing to pay for what it takes to run a proper site. Take my latest design client for example, who has a lot of traffic. My suggestion to her was to get two dedicated servers, one to run a power hungry data base of hers, and the other for the site. The site was making more money then it is now, but traffic has increased three fold. People are leaving in droves because the site has a a lot of traffic and taking way too long to load. Its hard to make money when people are not staying. The real kicker is that another dedicated server would only have eaten 10% of what she was making before, but she is only making 60% of what she made before.

    As you can tell with this site its getting slower with time, as traffic has increased 41% since your first comment. Soon I will have to upgrade. Funny thing is barely makes enough to pay its own bill, and defiantly does not reimburse me for my time.



  21. Initially I was happy with the service, but about a week ago a bunch of Windows updates pushed to the servers brought everything to a complete and total standstill, and I was unable to start the server at all. Email to the support desk got me a stern message:

    “*** We ask that you DO NOT try to restart updates or reboot the service. This will only complicate the situation and may lead to extended inaccessibility.”

    Yeah, that helped a bunch, so it took 4 days, and the updates still have not finished?

    Support ticket to the Billing department has gone unanswered.

  22. ” They suck!

    They are the Only people who have trouble dealing with recurring payments which I setup, and verified with them that it’s working, and have their support email proving they were satisfied. It seems that is not the case no matter what I did to try and resolve it.

    Anyhow, they shut me down, no email, no phone-call, nothing! Just like that.

    Fortunately, this was a backup server as I would never use a disreputable (not allowed to say the real “inappropriate” word) company like this for a primary server, still, all my rsync scripts and stuff are no longer there. “


    I bought a 1 dedicated server from them and 9 VPS servers for my VPN business. We do not allow our users to access the server to save files. We use OpenVPN and PPTP protocol in order for them to connect and surf on their own pc anonymously as offered by all VPN companies. couple of months ago, i have received an email from them stating that there was an abuse with the server. I immediately emailed them stating that no one can save files or any prohibited materials on the server. I have saved my VPS from suspension. Couple of days ago, my dedicated server did not worked. Upon checking, there was a notification on my BurstNet account but i never receive an email despite that the email is elected to receive notifications. All invoices were received by emails except for the Abuse Notification. I did not expect that my server is suspended until I emailed their support and asked why my server stopped. I was told that I need to pay $50 to bring back my server because I did not respond to their Abuse notification. After a couple of email exchanges, I told them I will stop and cancel all my servers and look for another provider. After sometime, I received an email stating that they have restored my server but i have to send them a reply within an hour. During that time I was not able to read my emails since I’m at work. I checked my server and it’s up. After couple of minutes, server is down. When I checked my email, they notified me that they suspend again the server for failure to respond within an hour from the time they have sent an email. They stated that they would like to provide quick and sufficient service. There is no such SUFFICIENT SERVICE!!! They are QUICK in suspending my account and collecting money but they are not QUICK in resolving issues. THIS IS THE WORST with this hosting company. I will never ever renew or buy any of the services they offer.

  24. My opinion is to RUN AWAY from this hosting provider as far as you can.

    Recently, we purchased a VPS with a monthly plan. First, they gave us one IP only so we had to by a package of 5 more (they don’t sell less additional IPs) so we can setup our name servers.

    Then in one week we found out they have given us a blacklisted IP. Yahoo! Mail would not remove us from their blacklist in any way for 3-4 weeks after the purchase and after setting all SPF, DKIM, etc. The emails of our customers were bounced by Yahoo! with the reason:

    SMTP error from remote mail server after initial connection:
    host mta6.am0.yahoodns.net []: 421 4.7.1 [TS03] All messages from —.—.—.— will be permanently deferred; Retrying will NOT succeed. See http://postmaster.yahoo.com/421-ts03.html.

    So after trying everything, we requested a main server IP change. The guy on the phone said: “I am new one hear and I have never heard of IP change possibility. I will ask and we will see.” Then quite time followed for a couple of days… No replies to my tickets, no interest in solving our issues at all.

    The truth about the support of this company:

    The typical response time of their support team is about 3 DAYS!? and they don’t care much even if you call by phone after that long period. They just say “we will take care of the issue” and then you don’t hear from them for another 3 days or more. You just don’t hear from them at all – even if you update your ticket. The support chat on their website is there for no reason – the status is always OFF LINE i.e. it is not available and generates tickets only (which are again not responded in a timely manner).

    The first month of hosting with this company was the worst and the most awful thing that has happened to us with a hosting company for the 20 years of experience. So we moved to another povider and we canceled our services ASAP.

    The new povider has a real 24 hour chat support (although we will rarely need it I hope), they do respond a ticket in 35-45 minutes. And their prices are lower. Now that I call a good hosting company.

    BurstNet is not. Run away from them and don’t be fooled with their promotions.

Leave a Reply