Ixwebhosting.com – How legit are those video testimonials?

Back when I was working on the video that would become the trademark  to this site, I was told to look at ixwebhosting.com.  There was no site at all at the time, I threw it together in less then 30 minutes prior to making the finale sequences of the video.  I was also still in the hosting business running 2 companies starting up a third, and only a year away from the 4th.  One of my business partners wanted me to start a blog, and make a post on ixwebhosting.com / featuredprice.com. I never quite understood the point of doing a blog, let alone  a post on this host at the time.  His reasoning was that the owner of this site operated a company called featuredprice.com, which also had their own review site where they were on top.   That is still a post for another day.  This post is about something I found back in March when I was looking at a anti-ixwebhosting.com blog.  I gave him the idea of looking at the videos.  I noticed one problem, and that was none of the sites existed in 2003, or before ixwebhosting.com came into being.  Granted there are more details.

First let me be clear before I proceed into what I found out about the these video reviews and give you my opinion.  I do NOT think these are fake reviews.  The bulk of what I have found are still with Ixwebhosting.com at this time.

Still with Ixwebhosting.com

Here is a list of all the sites in the videos that are still with Ixwebhosting.com


houndsinthekitchen.com – Created Nov 25, 2008 / Updated Nov 18, 2010 – Ohio
kellsband.com – Created Jul 21, 2005 / Updated Jul 7, 2010 – Ohio
digitaldynamicdesigns.com – Created Sep 16, 2007 / Updated Aug 16, 2010 – Ohio
yunbootcamps.com – Created May 6, 2008 / Updated May 6, 2008 – Ohio
1canalgirl.com – Created Feb 26, 2010 / Updated Jan 27, 2010 – Ohio
djscolumbus.com Created Aug 27, 2009 / Updated Aug 12, 2010 – Ohio
ryanomics.com Created Apr 25, 2006 / Updated Mar 17, 2011 – Ohio
fox-counseling.com Created Feb 13, 2009 / Updated Nov 2, 2010 – *privacy protection*
kellisautosales.com Created Oct 30, 2008 / Updated Sep 30, 2010 – garbage information entered, at risk of having their domain yanked.

The thing I noticed while looking up whois dates and address information was two things.  The oldest site is 2005, and all the sites that did not have privacy protection pointed to Ohio.  Which appears to be where ixwebhosting.com is based out of.  To be exact the addresses are literary  in and around Columbus Ohio.   Which is weird because on the page says is:

IXWebHosting is trusted by over 500,000 websites and their owners all over the world.

As I have repeated many times, the number of websites does not equal the amount of customers.  But numbers are not the issue here, I have no doubt that Ixwebhosting.com may very well have these numbers if not more.  My point is that this page indicates they serve the world, yet all the reviews are one tiny spot of the planet. I am willing to bet all the videos were done by the same crew.  Not to mention the videos are hosted on Ixhosting.com, not with youtube.com which could generate traffic.  Not to mention they could feed in more customer reviews that are from around the world.  Back when my oldest host turned 8 years old we had started to ask for testimonials.  When we sent the first mail out asking for them, we did not ask everyone.  We asked people from the first year.   I did not care that they may have been paying less then $10 a month, I wanted feed back from people that had stayed with us since the beginning as who better to give a testimonial?  Made it a point to show case their site, as Ixwebhosting.com has done.  Also when they signed up, which Ixhosting.com has not done.  Granted these were not video testimonials as Ixwebhosting.com has done.  Granted the updated does not always indicate when the dns was changed, but I am willing to guess that most of these customer signed up in 2010.

No Longer with Ixwebhosting.com

esotercdetail.com (no longer exists)

servicemasterelectric.com, Site appears to be under a whois privacy, Updated April 8, 2011

nateriggs.com Updated Mar 17, 2011- Ohio

ast.edu updated May 20, 2010 – Ohio

Here are two video reviews I found on the main page that were not on testimonials page.  Which appears to be due to not being with IXwebhosting.com

Collegeprops.com *private registration* Updated Jul 7, 2011.

Mpex.com, while the domain shows a PA address, the site itself has a Columbus Ohio address. updated  April 19, 2010.

Joe Cortez, no website listed, but how ever there is a Linkedin.com profile for someone with the same name in Ohio who is a webmaster.  However I have no idea if he is still with them or if he left.  A bit bizzare considering all the other reviews list a website.

I will try to contact some of  people whose sites are no longer hosted with Ixwebhosting to get their take.

8 Replies to “Ixwebhosting.com – How legit are those video testimonials?”

  1. Hi Brandon,

    I’m the Customer Service Director for IX Web Hosting (yup, in Columbus, OH). I am commenting here because while your post is factual – I’m confused at how we’re ‘busted’. You imply we have been busted about …? Its true that all the testimonials we have are from our area – we didn’t really have a travel budget for our video crew. Plus it was when we were still a little new to the area, so it was a nice way to see how the local users lived. There are some that are getting a bit older, and we need to update/remove them, but…not really a big deal – these are/were legitimate customers and legitimate videos.

    I suppose it would be a good idea to solicit testimonial videos from around the world – and maybe we’ll try that. But how is not having them something that is deserving of an exposé? IX Web Hosting prides itself on being completely transparent with our customers. We don’t delete comments on our blogs or only show the ‘good’ ones like a lot of hosts. We respond and communicate with all the post with us and tweet with us – we don’t think we have anything to hide!

    As for our website v. customer numbers – you are correct. We host over 500,000 websites, but have about 114,000 customers. Again though, we have not misrepresented this – so… busted?

    It would have been nice if you had reached out to us to talk about your concerns, we would have been very happy to talk with you about these items. Good luck with your site!

    Lisa Grice
    Director of Customer Experience

  2. Hello Lisa,

    There is no one by the name Brandon here, just me. Your site did not address the fact that these were done only in Ohio, never mind your header made clear you served the world. You did not disclose that you did the video’s, or any other detail in relation. I would make it clear. Not to mention where are the reviews from people that joined back in 2003? Honestly of any group of customers theirs is the most desirable.

    You don’t need to have a film crew to get video testimonials from your customer’s, which there are on youtube which you could show case on your site. If you have 114,000 customers you should have no problem of getting them to make videos.

    Also I would contact your client with the garbage details in their whois information so they don’t get their domain yanked.



  3. Whoops…that was terrible, sorry Benjamin – I read it wrong.

    I think all of your comments are true and viable, and interesting, we’ll probably even work towards them. I think the service you provide is valuable, and truth never hurts any company that is transparent.

    But – I still feel (and wish you would have responded about) that calling us ‘busted’ isn’t really accurate.

    Thank you,

    Lisa Grice
    Director of Customer Service

  4. Hello Lisa,

    Sorry for the late reply, but I wanted to hold off in part because I was on vacation and really did not want to spend my vacation time going back and forth on why I did a post. Granted there is another reason I held off a response that I will go into a bit further into this comment.

    The main reason I did not bother to contact you or any other host, is something til now that I had not disclose which is I actually contacted your company and every hosting company I found that paid so called review sites back in November 2007 after I got my video and site up. I had hoped that I could encourage your company and others to take on your affiliates and get them to do honest marketing. No surprise but with almost no hits, and rarely a single visitor in a day at the beginning, no one responded to me. Of coarse the very rage that Webhostingstuff.com had fueled to inspire me ran out by the end of November 2007, I as well thought this would go no where.

    That of coarse would change in early 2010. Google, of all companies was the one that reengaged me on the topic, after I sold all my shares in my previous hosting companies. Which lead to me doing a blog with posts on hosts that do business with affiliates who use so called reviews to get that so desired pay out, in your case on cj.com $50 – $150. I did not bother to contact hosting companies, as many of you had the opportunity to engage me. So I am not going to waste my time hoping to engage you through a private exchange of emails. I now hope hosts such as yours will work with me through this public channel, and in turn fix what I griped about. After almost 4 years from when I first started the video has close to 200,000 hits, and the site has a minimum of 600 visitors, and the minimum keeps going up with each week. Honestly its your companies responsibility as well as anyone else that is in business to make sure I have nothing unethical to write a blog article about it. If your going to do reviews, and state you serve the world make it known you did it in your state of operations with your own film crew. If you engage with affiliates, let them know they have to disclose why they say your host is the best to get that $50 – $150 pay out by pointing people to your site, especially when their sites are not housed on your servers.

    This brings me to one of the reasons I held off in responding, which is my latest blog post:


    A friend of mine sent me an email that Just Host has sent all of their affiliates. I wanted to put a post up in regards to this email before responding to you again. I challenge you and every host that deals with sites that make money by reviews to endorse your product to follow the FTC guide lines. I have no problem with affiliate programs as long as they are ran honestly.



  5. I used IXWebhosting for a few years. An old friend really advocated them and told me what a wonderful host they were.

    I actually left a bad host and moved my site to IXWebhosting–at the advice of my friend. At the time I was living in Denver Colorado and I started a company selling things related to online games.

    My business was becoming extremely successful, and notably, a large percent of my sales were happening on friday and saturday. I was typically bringing in about $2,000 to $4,000 in sales for each friday/ saturday night. My company was going viral and I was extremely busy trying to respond to customer demand.

    Well, IXWebhosting started randomly letting my server crash/ go offline for 24 hours or more at a time. THis was mostly occurring during peak traffic times on Fridays and Saturday evenings. This started happening once a month, then a few times per month. I started to lose quite a few customers…

    I asked IXWebhosting if I could pay them more money–in fact, I begged them, but they said they had no account better than mine. I begged them to change servers… all this was to no avail.

    I ended up moving to a different hosting company, and to a dedicated server, but that’s another story.

    Suffice it to say: IXwebshosting is a terrible host. I just wish I had smarter friends… (recall I only used their service because someone actually recommended them– but after a few years of bad experiences, I can safely say they are a terrible host).

  6. Benjamin,
    You are starting to drive me nuts. It is “of course” not “of coarse”. You do that so much it is time to get it fixed.
    I am currently a customer of IXwebhosting and have been for a few years. Just small time stuff for me, and overall I have been a happy customer but they seem to have recently taken a new tack on customer service. Another week of the new “ignore problems” and I will be seriously looking to go elsewhere. I have already checked out two of the hosts you are advertising on your home page. (btw, you about to do expose’s on any of them? lol)
    I hope Lisa sees this as I am about to send her an e-mail about my problem. Maybe she’s been canned and that is the problem. Hope not! She’s my last hope. I have read some of the problem blogs and she always seems to be sincerely interested in solving problems. And I am NOT in Ohio, never been there (San Diego area here).
    I have found some really useful information here, thanks! Hostgator was on my possibles list, now I will be reconsidering that. -Bill P.

  7. Hello Bill,

    Sorry for the late reply. I am not sure why one sentence was driving you nuts, sorry but I was typing it from my iPhone which tends to auto correct the wrong words, normally I do a once over on spell check when I get home (though don’t see if its the correct word).

    As far as hosts that appear in my advertising, I don’t endorse anyone. Google is the one dishing out ads for hosts, and I was banning any host that came across, but I may very well remove Google Adsense or restore all hosts to advertising.

    Did Lisa ever contact you?



Leave a Reply