ServersAndDomains – Can ServersAndDomains Offer You A Guarantee?

0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0

ServersAndDomains was on my June 2010 list for webhostinstuff.com. It was one of 5 hosts not on my list from May 2010, but it was not the one that grabbed my attention at the time.  That honor goes to i7net.net. This leaves me with only 4 host to review.  Serversanddomains seems to be one of the most generic of site names, but unlike other sites a more uptodate design.  However the site seems another cluttered mess, too many graphics distract from

http://www.serversanddomains.com

Looking at the reviews on webhostingstuff.com you can tell not everyone that has signed up with them was happy.

http://www.webhostingstuff.com/review/ServersAndDomains.html

Here is a summary of the poor to not so thrilling reviews:

warning: do not use serversanddomains  (Poor)
– by j (howmuchshouldiweigh.org) on 22 January 2010

Servers & Domains Fraud – Poor Service –  (Poor)
– by Lucy (actionradio.com) on 18 August 2009

Cluless Customer Service  (Poor)
– by Sue (webfrau.net) on 14 April 2009

Downhill Fast!  (Poor)
– by Kevin (cognitial.com) on 15 March 2009

Just awful host  (Poor)
– by Ted (tacticaltech.com) on 4 March 2009

ServersAndDomains Sucks  (Poor)
– by Malc (tdbpublishing.com) on 3 March 2009

Careless Hosting Company  (Poor)
– by ahronn (dalaguetebai.com) on 16 August 2008

support tickets ignored  (Poor)
– by Steve (partnersinhr.net) on 29 June 2008

Not so good…  (Average)
– by ian (itsolutionsnorth.co.uk) on 13 June 2008

Control Panel  (Average)
– by Yuri (mediseb.com) on 27 May 2007
ServersAndDomains have seriously problem with ControlPanel for hosting – it’s very-very slow

Apparently ServersAndDomains was bought out.

My first quirk with ServersAndDomains

The first thing I wanted to see was how long did I have to pay for to get the $1 a month hosting.  When I clicked I found that this only applied to one domain.  When I clicked on $1 from the main page, I was brought to a page that showed the other unlimited plans.  I clicked on “Order Now!”, which allows me to select between Plesk, cPanel, and Windows with Plesk.  I decided to click on Plesk.  This brings me to a sign up screen.

You have to register before you can actually order an account.  This is not something that I see with other companies.  But what this does is if you decided not to complete your order, even though you registered a user login with ServersAndDomains they can now email you with offers to sign up for service.   In order for me to see how many years I have to pay for to get $1 a month I have to register.   I will not be registering, and I don’t have an email that I want more spam on.   I have to say I am bothered by the fact that they do not disclose up front how many months I have to opt into to get $1 a month.  I know its not a month because credit card fees would eat a huge chunk out of that.

ServersAndDomains offers a 21 day trial

While trying to find how many years I had to register to get $1 a month, I noticed they have a 21 day trial, not a 21 day guarantee.  Or better yet a 30 days.   Anything under 30 days leaves me suspicious.   They state that they do not charge you for hosting for the first 21 days, all other services are billed at the time of order.  Regardless of being free, there is no guarantee period.  Anything less then 30 days should be avoided.

ServersAndDomains offers no refunds

http://serversanddomains.com/corporate/legal/index.php?hosting_tos

Refund and Disputes: All payments to ServersAndDomains are nonrefundable. This includes any one time setup fees and subsequent charges regardless of usage. All overcharges or billing disputes must be reported within 45 days of the time the dispute occurred. If you dispute a charge to your credit card issuer that, in ServersAndDomains’s sole discretion is a valid charge under the provisions of the TOS and /or AUP, you agree to pay ServersAndDomains an “Administrative Fee” of not less than $50 and not more than $150.

I am not sure how they will charge you for doing a charge back.  But clearly they leave no other option then a charge back to get a refund if service does not work.  If they were able to enforce the policy then clearly they would be able to fight the charge back.

Finale thoughts on ServersAndDomains

The refunds and disputes part of the terms of service is the part that makes me say to stay away from this company.  They offer no guarantee period.  Without any way of getting a refund there is no guarantee that you will get the service you paid for.  ServersAndDomains is a company I suggest avoiding.

2 Responses

  1. Sam

Add Comment