Who Is Ioxhost.co.uk?

0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0

If you have not figured out by now the titles from my blog posts on hosts have been adapted from affiliates trying to sucker people into buy so they can get a Juicy commission. But the more I look into this host, the more I ask myself who is ioxhost?

Number 10, ioxhost.co.uk. The first red light that comes up for me is:

Domain Whois record

Queried whois.nic.uk with “ioxhost.co.uk”…

    Relevant dates:
        Registered on: 06-Mar-2010
        Renewal date:  06-Mar-2012
        Last updated:  06-Mar-2010

This is a company that was supposed to be the the number 10 host out of 25, and now 17 out of 25. For that matter Alexa lists the Traffic Rank at 1,476,372. Which by webhosting terms is not impressive.

Going through the site I see several things that are not right. For one you can’t actually login to the customer service area. My browser tells me there is a error connecting or no such page.

Then there is this the top right hand part of the site:

1-505-796-8710

LIVE HELP (LEAVE MESSAGE)

Clicking on the live help takes me to a chat window that quickly turns into a UK version of the site with a UK number. Clearly things are not what they appear. I gave them a call. I guess I woke someone up after 10 rings as I got a hello, and then a “uh” when I asked if this was iox hosting. After bringing up the login not working for the customer service area I am refered to cPanel. Honestly it did not seem worth it to go any further so I just hung up.

Here is the thing that puzzles me. Webhosting stuff.com claims to have monitored 520 days since Jan 2009. Then there is review:

IoxHost Hosting is excelent (Excellent)

– by Carlos (guaridaarcana.com) on 22 January 2009

The domain name is expired. Three review from April of this year, and one from May 2010. I can’t help but wonder since the domain whois info says created March 2010 if Webhostingstuff.com fabricated the data then. When I first started my video I tried looking for ‘webhosting reviews exposed’ and ‘webhosting review scams”, back then it was hard to find people who complained about sites like webhostingstuff.com. These days sites like mine are appearing in the top of search engine results. I am more then certain that the hosts that use services like webhostingstuff.com are starting to realize that its not a good idea to be associated with webhostingstuff.com. Which might make web hosting stuff more inclined to fabricate information in addition to deleting positive feed back for those that would pay for top listings. But I am not beyond thinking that the domain register for ioxhost screwed up some how. After all according to webhostingstuff.com ioxhost.com was down for 41 hours in February 2010. Perhaps they forgot to renew their domain name. I am not sure that recovery of a .co.uk domain work the same as a .com in terms of recovery. Out of the 2 domains I have recovered they did not lose their creation date.

But there is also this, a site they link to that shows you their uptime:

http://www.pingdom.com/reports/puq9oug0dofg/check_overview/?name=IoxHost+Alpha

It starts April 2010. Asides for a review from 2009 and uptime history from webhostingstuff.com I have doubts that this host was a round last year. Then there is the company profile on webhostingstuff.com as well as http://ioxhost.co.uk/about.html which switches between first and third person perspective.

About IoxHost:

We provide low cost and reliable webhosting to customers across the world,

Established in 2006, We have never faulted in providing the high level of quality customer service and product that customers have come to expect.

We are a team of experienced web developers who couldn’t find reliable web hosting service to host our websites so we founded our own business.

It has been a great success right from day 1 with more and more clients joining us every day.

IoxHost still has the clients they started out with in 2009, which just shows the commitment to their customers.

We caters to the needs of every client, our sales team are professional, well spoken, understandingly sympathetic and knowledgeable – they make great first impressions, that last. Have a problem? Have a query?

Our sales team are very happy to converse with you to get everything resolved, it is afterall in everyone’s best interests.

We have big plans for the future to expand on our business to suite our clients needs.

We take all suggestions seriously and actively encourage our customers to tell us what they would like us to improve on and what suggestions they may have.

Here are the parts I have trouble with asides for this not being a well written or thought out company introduction:

Established in 2006

So far there is nothing that shows that they were around before 2009. What evidence there is that they were around before 2010 seems dubious at best.

IoxHost still has the clients they started out with in 2009, which just shows the commitment to their customers.

This is where they switch to third person. What about the customers from 2006, 2007, and 2008? Are they trying to say they did not lose a single customer from 2009? What about customer that wrote the review 2009 on webhostingstuff.com whose domain is expired? Frankly even the best companies are going to lose customers.

Our sales team are very happy to converse with you to get everything resolved, it is afterall in everyone’s best interests.

That statement brings to mind movies about mobsters, but then again I have a very vivid imagination. But still its not something I would use in the wording of an introduction to my company.

Then there is the show case on ioxhost.co.uk

http://ioxhost.co.uk/showcase.html

There is only one site there rmb-scripting.com, which changed their dns to ioxhost this month. Never mind there are 4 glowing reviews with active sites on webhostingstuff.com (though I suspect those were from the employees, friends, and family). But their sites are not show cased on iox.

Then there is the ioxhost terms of service:

http://ioxhost.co.uk/termsofservice.html

This has to be one of the shortest terms of service. But I think the most mind boggling part is:

Change to the Terms of Service by the Company shall not be grounds for early contract termination or non-payment.

They offer a 99.8% up time. I am not sure most people do the math but .001% down time is 43.2 minutes. Ioxhosting.co.uk can have 1 hour 26 minutes of down time, but there is no clarification on what iox will do to remedy any down time suffered beyond that. Most hosting companies do not consider maintenance such as hard ware upgrades and reboots in the percentage.

Refusal or Termination of Service

ioxhost.co.uk reserves the right to refuse service to anyone for any reason not prohibited by law. We reserve the right to terminate service to any Client for any reason not prohibited by law.

Any deliberate attempt to cause damage to ioxhost.co.uk or any other Internet servers may result in immediate account deactivation without prior notice. No refund is given in this case.

I am not sure anyone at this company bothers to read what they post online. Clearly there is no formatting, broken English, and in this case repeated text. For a terms of service its surprisingly small.

Funny thing is a chat window opened up while I was looking at the terms of service, the chat operator’s name is Daniel. Which is the same first name for the owner of the domain ioxhost.co.uk.

Just a simple chat with Daniel of Ioxhost

I decided to chat with Daniel, whom I assume owns the domain ioxhost.co.uk. Unfortunately I lost the chat session. Daniel claims that they are a small company with a small customer base. This was in response to a question about his showcase where he disclosed the only site on there rmb-scripting.com is his site. Which apparently is where they started hosting sites on from 2006 til 2009 where they bought ioxhost.com and then replaced it with ioxhost.co.uk. Keep in mind that ioxhost.com is not coming up with a webpage at this time, but appears to have had the dns changed this month. This information does not make me any more confident in the company. As it has gone through three name changes in 4 years (if what he told me is correct). I can see starting up a domain dedicated to selling hosting. But starting another domain up after a year and abandoning the one that was started last year seems like a bad idea. I would have atleast taken a few years to migrate people to the new domain, and have the old domain redirect to the new one. The annual fee of a .com is easily a small cost to pay to not have customers wonder what is going on.

Odd relate search engine tidbit that some how relates to ioxhost

http://www.web-hosting-top.com/web-hosting/web-hosting-top.firstnetserv.co.uk-reviews

May 11, 2010

Daniel ( daniel[at]ioxhost[dot]com ) Very abusive kid, (child) threats to ddos.

Reporting to police and the datacenter you co locate in.

All do not choose this host if what he says about dept collectors are true

60 out of 68 Top Web Hosting users found this web hosting reviews to be helpful!

First i must add, i am not a child, Second your Customer ID isnt in my database so i prosume your review is Incorrect. Do you have any proof of the Threats? I certinaly dont know you. And why do you bring the dc into this, they cannot do anything, And yes i do use collections do you have a problem with that? Feel free to Contact the police. as you have no proof or evidence. Once again who are you and what is your customer domain? You may contact me @ 0843 289 6357, ow i have also taken a record of your IP address incase of any future abuse towards my company.

Have a nice day…

— firstnetserv.co.uk representative

I am not sure what to make of that at all as it seems Daniel of ioxhost is making a complaint against firstnetserv.co.uk.

Finale Thoughts on Ioxhost

I have a feeling this is a one man operation. As for the reviews being solid on this company I could go 50 / 50. Reviewing the site does not give me any confidence. Broken links, poor formatting, incomplete pages, a phone operator that may very well may be Daniel himself as he seemed to be the chat operator, and a customer service area that when you attempt to use takes you to a page not found screen. This is one of those cases where I kick the tires and I am not happy with the reaction I get from a car that falls apart.  From the 4 reviews I can see on webhostingstuff the dns was changed in the last few months, possible due to dropping the .com in favor of .co.uk.  If that is not the case, these people did not bother to look and see if the site was legit before signing up.    I would love to hear why webhostingstuff.com justified this being in the 10th position and then the 17th position. Clearly they were paying less for their advertising.

2 Responses

  1. Russ Michaels
  2. Benjamin

Add Comment